It’s Autumn.

October 23, 2006

I’ve not updated here in quite a while, but I have been busy in the kitchen.  Autumn’s arrival had me busy at the cottage, harvesting the last of what summer could squeeze out and ultimately turning over the season’s soil in preparation for next year’s prosperity.   At our last weekend at the cottage, Ross and I picked beets, tomatoes, beans, some scraggly looking carrots, onions and some gorgeous sugar pumpkins.

 Using the short crust recipe as I made to prepare my 2-bite butter tart crusts, I filled my cups of pumpkin after roasting the gourds for 45 minutes at about 350f, so they’d be soft.  And then I pureéd them.  Canned pumpkin is easier and just as sufficient.

For the filling, here’s what you’ll need:  

3 large eggs
2 cups pumpkin puree
1/2 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

To my dismay, there were no ground cloves in the cupboard.  Just cloves on the stem.  Microplaning your fingertips does not affect this recipe at all.  If anything, it just injects more love into the final result.

Whisk the eggs in a glass bowl.  Stir and combine the other ingredients.  Smell them and resist the urge to eat them raw.  Spoon into tart shells and bake the pie for about 45 to 55 minutes or until the filling is set and the crust has browned.

Top with whipped cream and revel in this dessert’s ease to prepare.

2 Responses to “It’s Autumn.”

  1. Evelyn Says:

    Hello,
    I was wondering if the person who took the small sugar pumpkin photo would let me use it on a seed pack for my greenhouse company, Sage Garden Herbs. I think it would be great if we showed photos taken by actual gardeners instead of the posed horticultural images.
    For more info on what i do check out http://www.herbs.mb.ca.
    I know the comments section is really not intended for soliciting photos, but I couldn’t figure out how else to get in touch.


  2. I’m between pens at the moment, since the discontinuation of the Zeb-Roller 2000. I had a quick jaunt with the Paper Mate InkJoy 700 RT, but it’s just Click https://twitter.com/moooker1


Leave a Reply

